Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
State Library of Iowa

1919 Yearbook

1919 Yearbook


1919 Yearbook


Leo "Tam" Donohoe, who left college in the late winter or 1018 to enter
army, visited his Alma Mater this year. He saw real service overseas
and was both wounded and gassed. He participated in the great battles
of the Argonne Forest and St. Mihiel. "Tam" expresses the opinion that he
will return to St. Ambrose next year.
Raymond McGrath of the Junior Collegiate
class of 1917, who served for some time in the
army, entered St. Mary's Seminary, Baltimore,
Maryland, during the winter months.
James Butterfield, Academic '17, enlisted in
the Coast Artillery last July. He was soon promoted to corporal, but was discharged in December without seeing active service. He is now at
home at Washington, Iowa.
Rev. Cletus J. Portel, College '13, is at present
at the Catholic University of America at Washington, D. C, specializing in history.
James Morrow, College '16, is pursuing a
course in medicine at the University of Minnesota.
Louis Sweeney, Commercial '18, is working
with his brother at the Sweeney Automobile
school at Kansas City, Missouri.
John Cahill, a student at St. Ambrose during
1908 and 1909, died of the influenza at his home in
Iowa City, February, 1919. He was a druggist with
a good start and brilliant prospects and his death is
mourned by many Alumni.
Rev. Arthur J. Fitzpatrick, College '13, is assistant pastor of St. Anthony church, Des Moines, Iowa.
Bernard Cullen, Commercial '18, is at home at Mt. Etna, Iowa.
Vincent Gannon, Academic '11, was appointed a lieutenant in the United
States army a short time ago.
Leland Callahan ha^ received his discharga from the army and is at
work with the Warfield-Pratt-Howell Co., at Des Moines, where he has a
splendid position.
JohifHynes, Academic 1911, is practicing law at Des Moines. We wish
publicly to thank him for the help he has rendered us in our Alumni research.
Something that perhaps has never before been mentioned in this space
reserved for the worthy Alumni of St. Ambrose, is that eight of the eleven
priests of the faculty are graduates of this college. They are: Rev. Wm,
Hannon, College 1900, president; Rev. Henry Takkenburg, College 1909;
Rev. Owen McGuire, College 1903; Rev. Ulrich Hauber, College 1904, master of studies; Rev. Carl Meinburg, College 1911; Rev. William Adrian, College 1907; Rev. Leo Kerrigan, College 1914; Rev. Edward Neuzil, College
L. D. Evans is now at St. Paul, Minnesota, with the Verac Motor Co.




St. Ambrose University, 518 W. Locust St., Davenport, IA 52803