Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
State Library of Iowa

1915 Yearbook

1915 Yearbook


1915 Yearbook


The Daydodgers in Athletics
In the fall of 1914, just as in every year, the "Daydodgers" responded to
the call of football with the determination to do their best for S. A. C. The football brains and brawn were represented by A. Tobin, E. Coleman, V. Gannon, W.
Volz, H. Havens, E. Kerkhove, and F. Tumpane.
In December, 1914, Father Adrian undertook to organize a basketball league
for the dayscholars. Four teams were selected and E. Coleman, E. O'Connor, C.
Toynbee, and R. McGrath were chosen captains. After a successful season of
twelve games each, the teams finished in the following order: first, E. Coleman;
second, R. McGrath; third, E. O'Connor; fourth, C. Toynbee.
Upon the conclusion of the league schedule a team was selected to represent
the daydodgers. Frank McGivern filled the right guard position, Bill Cover took
care of the left side, Ed. O'Connor and Kevin Coughlin held down center, Chas.
King and Chas. Toynbee were the forwards. Toynbee was chosen captain and the
team as a whole acted as manager.
This team made the best record yet for a daydodger team, winning eight
out of ten games and scoring a total of two hundred and thirty-five points against
their opponents eighty-eight.
Their defeat at the hands of the varsity team took place with a substitute
in the game and the final whistle found the daydodgers at the short end of a 14 to
10 score. In baseball, the daydodgers bid fair to hold down their quota of positions and material is at hand for a championship team.




St. Ambrose University, 518 W. Locust St., Davenport, IA 52803