Iowa Heritage Digital Collections
State Library of Iowa

1920 Yearbook

1920 Yearbook


1920 Yearbook


'Oft, in the stilly night,
Ere Slumber's chain has bound me,
Fond Memory brings the light
Of other days around me."
Newman Flanagan, Paul Moore, Aloysius Cone and Raymond Kinnavey of the class
of '19 are pursuing their theological studies at St. Mary's Seminary, Baltimore, Md.
Francis Simmons, also of the class of '19, is at Kenrick Seminary, Webster Groves,
John Gerwe, who received his A. B. degree last June, is at home in Davenport.
Of the Senior Academics of '19, Thomas Lew, Harold Britt, Charles Costello, Louis
Nieters, Harold Ott, Nevin Gerwe, Arthur McGivern and Yvo Floeschinger have
returned to seek further learning at their Alma Mater.
James Fottral and Cletus Bailey, both of the class of '19, are in their Freshman year
of the Engineering Department of the University of Iowa.
Eugene "Red" McLain '19, the peerless little athlete of high school athletic fame,
has added laurels to his name by playing a star game at half-back on the football team
and guard on the basket ball quintette at St. Viator's College. "Red" has been taking
a pre-medic course at the above-mentioned school.
Raymond Oberbroekling '19 is a member of the Liberal Arts Department of Dubuque College. The "Big Boy" formed the mainstay on the line of the Northern
College's football team last fall.
Clarence Horty '19 is attending the University of Iowa.
Robert Feeny, Wayne Lintz, Howard Allar, Gerald Woeber, Wm. Hudson, all of
the class, are engaged in work in either Davenport or Bettendorf.
Julian Glantz of Port Byron, 111., Louis Klise of Stuart, Iowa, Norbert Dautre-
mont of Riverside, Iowa, Louis Barnes of Preemption, 111., Harry Vander Vennett of
Moline, 111., Bernard Flaherty of Ottumwa, Iowa, Henry Meersman of Moline, 111.,
Leo Kelley and Wm. Lyons of Colfax, Iowa, members of the '19 Academics, are at
their respective homes.
Page 138